a 20’s necklace & all that jazz

One of my deep, dark fashion shames is that I don’t know how to thrift or dig up vintage finds. *hangs head.* These are skills that I feel every fashionista should have, and I don’t have them. When I walk into these sorts of shops, I get overwhelmed by the sheer volume of germy, mouldering clothes and tacky accessories, and I walk out with nothing. Then I hear about Sophia Amaruso finding a Chanel jacket for $8 and I think, “I have to get in on this.”

That being said, my boyfriend buys most of his stuff used and knows his way around thrift shops and yard sales. Earlier this year, he surprised me with a gorgeous piece of 1920’s jewelry that he bought at a yard sale.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Am I the only one who thinks Eli did really well here?

Not only does it add an instant Gatsby feel to any look, but it’s charming to imagine its previous owner. Who was the first woman to wear this necklace? Was it a gift from her husband on their first wedding anniversary? Did she wear it with a little black dress and opera gloves? Did she love red lipstick as much as I do? I don’t know, but I sure wish I could meet her.

I’m all about doing what’s unexpected with your outfit, so I have to admit that I love this paired with my chunkiest plaid sweater. It makes for a look that’s part glam, part frumpy old man, but somehow it works for me.

photo (53)

 

Do any of you thrift, and if so, how do you sort through the junk to find the treasures? Teach me your skills!

xo,

j

 

Leave a Reply

