because jane austen is always relevant to me

I’ve decided to keep posting in the three categories I originally set out for this blog, but I made an executive decision not to post in every category every week. Too much, yeah?

But for this installment of From The Archives, I have to share a quotation from my favorite author (and my personal hero) Jane Austen. Even though, to my knowledge, she never cared much for fashion, she discussed it in her novel Northanger Abbey. I hope you get a kick out of this as much as I do.

Woman is fine for her own satisfaction alone. No man will admire her the more, no woman will like her the better for it. Neatness and fashion are enough for the former, and a something of shabbiness or impropriety will be most endearing to the latter.

When I think about all the times I’ve dressed up knowing that I’m the only one who will be so keenly aware of my outfit, I’m convinced that Jane Austen (AS ALWAYS) is right.

Hoping you get a chance to be fine for yourself today,

xo

j

the babe herself

the babe herself

Leave a Reply

