these are a few of my favorite things

During these last few August days, let’s send summer off in style and welcome autumn with our kazoos and combat boots.

When I think about my fashion inspiration these past few months, I have to go ahead and admit that I’ve loved

1. Dressing up like the ’80’s.

Visual demonstration:

photo (45)

I love how recyclable fashion is–how styles and decades repeat themselves with sometimes only minor changes. And I can’t help but love it when the eighties come back because I never got to live them in the first place (insert Ikona Pop dance break: “You’re from the seventies, but I’m a nineties chick.”) For this particular retro outfit, I have to thank Madonna’s brand “Material Girl” for the crazy leggings and Nordstrom’s “Rubbish” for the relaxed pink menswear-inspired shirt. Diva on a budget, yo.

Enough about summer, I want to talk about fall. What I’m looking forward to:

2. Mixing My Prints

I’ve only become comfortable enough to start doing this within the last year or so, but now I’m all about it. While some prints/colors inevitably clash, I love stumbling on a weird combo that somehow works. I don’t know how it happens, but sometimes mixing my plaids, leopards, and camo doesn’t make my eyes hurt.

photo (434)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo (3545)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Breaking the Rules

I was flipping and flopping my way through the TeenVOGUE September issue (I know, I know), when all of a sudden I found a spread of girls in fall clothes with white purses. The article posited that white handbags are very in this fall. Remember all those times you’ve heard that you’re not supposed to wear white after Labor Day? Whatevah.

photo (44)

 

Happy print-mixing and white-purse-sporting.

xo,

 

jaQ

Leave a Reply

