it feels like a perfect night to dress up like hipsters (or beauty queens)

If fashion is formative, it is also transformative.

Allow 3-year-old me to convince you from the archives:

photo (44)

It may surprise you to hear that I actually didn’t love shopping back then, and I hated it when people gave me clothes instead of toys for my birthday. BUT…I loved to dress up. Tutus. Hats. Shoes. Whatever. And maybe, unbeknownst to me, that was one of my earliest and most instinctive pulls to the industry I love today: fashion as performance art.

Fashion connoisseur Lady Gaga once wrote, “I am a show with no intermission. It is this thing that summons me from the depths of reality and reminds me that the power of transformation is endless…in order for the FANTASY OF YOU to become the REALITY OF YOU, you must commit to the fantasy as wholeheartedly as you commit to your humanness.”

Despite the underlying, disturbing hint of self-worship, that has stuck with me and inspired me and prompted my thinking for many months now: committing to my fashion vision, even though I live in a small town where it is not always called for. Allowing fashion to transform me from a fruit-packer to a glam girl.

I used to sell clothes for a living, and by far the most rewarding part of the job was making women feel beautiful. I’ll never forget one woman who came to me and said, “I feel chubby and I want you to make me feel happy.”  I started outfitting her and when I went to her room to check on her, she said, “WAIT WAIT for me to get this outfit back on so you can see your good work.” After a minute, she opened the door and said, “I feel happy…and IT’S BECAUSE OF YOU.” She wrapped me up in a hug. That moved me–watching transformation happen.

Here’s hoping you have a moment of fashion transformation this week,

 

jaQ

Leave a Reply

