You may be wondering why I’ve gathered you all here today

I love fashion.

Let me make myself clear. As a mechanism for making people feel inferior, off-trend, and unpopular, I despise fashion. As a means of freeing people up to be creative–to perform a sort of wearable art every day–I love fashion. That’s why I started this blog. I think Emma Stone said it best in the July 2012 issue of VOGUE:

When Stone first donned Alber Elbaz’s belted, floor-length Lanvin gown for the 2011 BAFTAs, she had a revelation: “It was a red dress, it was asymmetrical, and the minute I put it on I thought, Oh, this is what fashion does for people. It makes them feel like it’s an extension of themselves.”

In that spirit, I’m calling this space EXTENSION. But for me, fashion is also about extending myself in the sense of upping my game, pushing myself, and thinking outside the box. I don’t think I have it all together, and I’m not presumptuous enough to tell you what to wear. I’m calling this a fashion convention, because I think this is such an interesting conversation. I find inspiration in many different  places. Oh, that’s another thing I love about fashion: it’s a constant dialogue.

I recognize that this may not be your thing. Totally get it. In that case, feel free to ignore me here and, if you feel so inclined, to pay attention to me here.

For those of you who are still reading–wow, thanks.

So, my goal is to post three times a week, once in each of the three categories. What three categories? you ask. You’re smart and you ask good questions. That’s one thing I like about you.

1) 3 Things That Inspire Me

I invented this category as a nod to the Nasty Gal blog‘s “10 Things We Love Today.” I love a simple, quick way to share inspiration in whatever form it may take. Hey—while we’re on the subject, I’m inspired by the Nasty Gal blog. I don’t drink the KoolAid on everything they say, but I have to check it out at least a couple times a week.

2) The Super Crunchy Post

I have an older sister named Danielle, who for reasons too long, complex, and irrational to explain on the internet, I call Bob. I think that genetics and my own sub-conscious have teamed up to try to make me a mini-Bob. We have the same hair color (brown), we’re both introverts, we went to the same college, and we both love our dog named Rusty. A couple years ago, Bob got into natural makeup. I resisted for a long time, but recently she explained to me that there is lead in most lipsticks. I thought, “I wear lipstick while I’m eating and drinking–you know, I bet at least some of that lipstick gets on my tongue and–AHH MAN I’M EATING LEAD.” So what did I do? I followed Bob into natural makeup land. I’m still in the process of moving over, but from what I can tell, it’s a pretty nice neighborhood. I’m excited to share my finds with you. Bob and I call healthy people “granola crunchers,” and if they’re realllllly nutty, we call them “super crunchy.” Hence the category name.

3) From The Archives

This might be an old piece from my wardrobe that I still love (let’s be real, I’m a diva on a budget), something weird that I no longer wear, something newer I sport that’s inspired by a former decade…or if I’m scraping the bottom of the barrel, maybe one of my childhood pics from the ’90’s.

I’m really excited that we’re all here. Let’s get this party started.

 

photo (35)

Leave a Reply

